Skip to content

Grouchy, Hormonal People Should Not Visit Denver.

February 9, 2010

Denverites, if I give you my brutally-honest first impression of your downtown area (or at least, Lower Downtown or “LoDo”), do you promise not to get mad at me?  Promise?

Let me preface this by saying I was feeling uncharacteristically grouchy and hormonal when we made our brief tour of your city.  Everything about the place was making me angry, and I felt I needed to leave it as soon as possible or snap someone’s neck like a twig.

Andrew and I visited LoDo at around 9 AM, last Wednesday.  We drove around, just looking to get a feel for the area.  Could we live here? We wondered.

I was hoping for a place that was living, breathing, pulsating.  In a city with a population that’s nearly double that of Cincinnati, I expected to see more people walking around in downtown Denver than I would have at the same time of day in Cincy.  Nope.  In fact, there were probably fewer.

It’s so clean!  And the buildings look so new!  But where is the life?

To compare Denver to New York or Paris isn’t even close to fair, I know.  But I’m gonna do it anyway.  What I loved about New York and Paris was that if I were to go for a walk, there would always be something new to see, a new avenue to explore.  Paris, being such an old city, has charming, meandering streets and alleys that enticed me to wander around endlessly, no matter what the weather was like.

In downtown Denver, the streets are in a very anally-planned grid, and virtually every restaurant chain imaginable has found a home.  I imagined myself gaining about 30 pounds because I’d never have any desire to leave the house when the temperature dropped below 55 degrees.

Maybe we just needed some coffee.  Yeah, coffee.  Andy and I stopped at Mangiamo Pronto, which was a nice place.  My espresso tasted like dirt, though.

I looked my man in the eye and told him I needed to get the fuck out of Denver or I was going to go apeshit.

Or words to that effect.

So we hopped back in the car and drove 1/2 hour north, to Boulder.

Ahh, Boulder…  it’s more our speed.  But we’re leaving tomorrow, to go south.  Deep south.  Somewhere warm, finally!  I’ll tell you where in the next post, after I show some love to Boulder.

But I know we didn’t give Colorado a chance, and I’m so sorry to be ripping Denver a new a-hole.  It’s truly unfair–seriously, we were in Denver less than 18 hours, and that’s including our overnight stay at La Quinta.  Talk about snap judgements!

We should come back in the spring, right?  What do you think?  Where should we go?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 8:31 am

    oh no! so sorry your experience wasn’t good! i’ve only been there a couple times but have learned that denver is not where to go to see the best parts :)

    • February 10, 2010 1:46 am

      I’m glad someone understands! Eh, you win some, you lose some. I now have spiffy Denver and Boulder refrigerator magnets to add to my collection. Trying to look on the bright side, now that my mood is back to normal. ;)

  2. February 9, 2010 1:32 pm

    hey girl….next time you come to Colorado, check out Fort Collins. Great downtown, lots of unique restaurants and boutique hotels. Tons of people walking around, riding bikes, living life. Sure, it has its’ typical big box malls in some areas, but really…check out downtown FC. I think you’ll like it!!!

    • February 10, 2010 1:31 am

      Thanks for the tip! Yeah we definitely need to come back to Colorado, we just picked a bad time I think. Someone else mentioned FC too, so that’s two votes! Gotta check it out!

Leave a Reply

