Skip to content

10 People I’d Like to Cook With

February 21, 2010

Regrettably, I had to cancel a cooking day with Christina, an Austin foodie–she was gonna make SUSHI!  FUCK!!!–because I had a terrible cold and didn’t want to get her sick.  It was too late to reschedule, as Andrew was over Austin and ready to go to San Diego.  (More on that in the next post, and later, more about Austin.)

I thought about doing away with this whole “Cook With a Foodie in Every City” stuff.  It’s February–still time to change my goals, right?

My hope is that, in time, enough people will read–and enjoy–this blog that, numerous volunteers in each city I visit will burst forward saying “Pick me!  Pick me!”  But that’s certainly not how it is right now.

All the endless phone calls, emails, searching, hoping, wishing that some stranger in a strange city would be so kind as to invite me into their home, cook their favorite meal, and let me take pictures of everything.  Is it really worth it in the end?  Am I wasting too much of my time concentrating on finding “guest-stars,” to the exclusion of my other goals?  (It’s been at least two weeks since I’ve done the Recipe of the Week, for example.)

Yes to both questions, but I’ll keep doing it anyway.  :)

For now, though, I just want to take a break and dream big…

10 People I’d Like to Cook With (in no particular order…or is it?)

10. Tal Ronnen.  Vegan chef to the stars!  He’s supposed to be in Austin, March 3-4.  But I’m not in Austin anymore, am I?
9.  Martha Stewart.  I love her.  I hate her.  I love her.  I hate her.  I need her advice on building my empire: Alecia Lott Omnimedia.
8. Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero, authors of Vegan with a Vengeance, Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, and Veganomicon.  The first two cookbooks changed my life in very positive ways.  The third one’s title is really fun to say.
7.  Lauren Ulm, author/blogger of Vegan Yum Yum.  That’s a no-brainer.  Hell, half my blog consists of food from her recipes!
6.  Michelle Obama.  Why not?  We could pick veggies out of the White House Garden and cook and arm-wrestle.  (Hey, you can’t use the Secret Service!  No fair!)
5.  Deb, author of Smitten Kitchen.  The only problem is, I’d have to let her cook AND take all the pictures as well–she is so talented!
4.  SusanV, author of Fatfree Vegan Kitchen.  Again–she’d cook and take photos.  I’d eat and enjoy.  That’s it.  Thank you.
3.  The author of Cook to Bang.  For obvious name-similarity reasons.  But hey, I’m not a “celibate schmo.”   :)
2.  Rocco DiSpirito.  I just always thought he was cute.  Even before he lost all that weight.  I’d like him to take his shirt off and make risotto while I pretend to listen.  So there.
1.  My boyfriend Andrew.  I want my own kitchen!  I’m sick of restaurants and hotels!  I want to have dinner parties with my sweetie and have him make margaritas and special sauce!  (And I wouldn’t kick him out of the kitchen if he took his shirt off and made risotto…)

And there you have it.  If any of these people wish to contact (or ridicule) me, it isn’t difficult.

Good night.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 12:54 pm

    Hey Bang Bang, I didn’t actually make sushi that day, but here’s some pics of sushi I’ve made in the past http://www.flickr.com/photos/vegan-vanguard/sets/72157607005090465/

  2. February 26, 2010 5:05 pm

    Aww. Now I am filled with even more regret–that sushi looks absolutely scrumptious (and cute)! Christina, I hope you are doing well and thanks for sharing the pics. Sigh… :)

Leave a Reply

